Skip to content

Annual Awards

Each year the Carbondale Chamber of Commerce recognizes outstanding achievement by businesses, individuals and residents with a variety of awards. Nominations can be submitted here from mid-November to December each year.

Award recipients are honored at the Chamber's Annual Banquet in February and are featured in video segments shown as a part of the banquet program.

Information and criteria for each award, along with a list of past winners, is shown below.



The Business of the Year award recognizes a Carbondale business with outstanding accomplishments in growth, innovation, and civic leadership. Nominations for this award are submitted by Chamber members.

Previous winners...

2000    Planning & Mgt Consultants, Ltd.
2001    Old National Bank
2002    University Mall
2003    E.T. Simonds Construction Co.
2004    710 Book Store
2005    First Southern Bank
2006    Mary Lou’s Grill
2007    Newell House
2008    1187 Creative
2009    Venegoni Distributing
2010    Thomas Publishing
2011    Vogler Motor Company
2012    The Bank of Carbondale
2013    Vic Koenig Chevrolet
2014    Wells Fargo Advisors
2015    Grand River Spirits
2016    Murdale True Value
2017    Neighborhood Co-Op
2018    Moreland/ Bishop McDonald's
2019    Mayer Networks
2020    SIH Memorial Hospital
2021    Judge Services
2022    Intertape Polymer Group


The Business Leader or the Year Award is given to an individual who has demonstrated outstanding leadership, not only in their own business, but also in the local business community. Nominations for this award are submitted by Chamber members.

Previous winners...

2000    John J. (Jack) Buckley
2001    John Dosier
2002    Dr. Marsha Ryan
2003    Steve Payne
2004    Dennis DeRossett
2005    Trace Brown
2006    Tom Firestone
2007    Greg Sprehe
2008    Curtis Baird
2009    Jeff Speith
2010    San Chan
2011    Gayla Borgognoni
2012    T.J. Martin
2013    Brad Weiss
2014    Rex Budde
2015    Robert Bleyer
2016    Darren Berger
2017    Al Kuczynski
2018    Steve Falat
2019    Jim Jacobs
2020    Steve Mitchell
2021    Cynde Bunch
2022    Steve Quinn


The Citizen of the Year Award is presented to a local resident who has made a significant impact on our community, and who has consistently demonstrated an outstanding commitment in service to others. The recipient of this award is nominated by the previous three winners.

Previous honorees...

2000    Gail and Linda White
2001    John and Nancy Jackson
2002    Frank Black
2003    Neil and Mary Ellen Dillard
2004    John Cherry
2005    Helen Deniston
2006    Harvey Welch
2007    Corene and Milton McDaniel
2008    Anne Knewitz
2009    Jack Langowski
2010    Mort and Barbara Levine
2011    Randy Osborne
2012    Sam Goldman
2013    Sarah Heyer
2014    Dr. Marsha Ryan
2015    Mark "Skip" Cosgrove
2016    Diane Hood
2017    Frank Bleyer
2018    George & Diane Sheffer
2019    Darren Berger
2020    Carolin Harvey
2021    Tina Carpenter
2022    Daniel Booth


The Regional Business of the Year Award recognizes a Southern Illinois business that contributes significantly to the Carbondale community and the Southern Illinois region as a whole. Recipients of this award are nominated by members of the Chamber.

Previous winners...

2005    Silkworm
2006    John A. Logan College
2007    Short Enterprises
2008    The Southern Illinoisan
2009    E.T. Simonds
2010    Alto Vineyards
2011    Southern Illinois Healthcare
2012    Extra Help, Inc.
2013    Black Diamond Harley-Davidson
2014    Rendleman Orchards
2015    17th Street Bar and Grill
2016    Walmart
2017    Cook Sales
2018    Samron Midwest Contracting
2019    River Radio
2020    Northbridge Professional Technologies
2021    Centerstone of Illinois
2022    Southern Illinois Airport


The Young Professional of the Year Award is given to an individual under 40 years old who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and service in the community and a commitment to the work of the Chamber. Nominations for this award are submitted by Chamber members.

Previous recipients...

2012    Melissa Lewis
2013    Matt Brooks
2014    Joel Sambursky
2015    Jason Sigler
2016    Shane Carsrud
2017    Jeremy Clow
2018    Justin Zurlinden
2019    Brynn Wheetley
2020    Nic Skovgard
2021    Roni LeForge-Croxell
2022    Michael Lewallen


The Chamber Service Award is given to an individual who has gone above and beyond in the service of the Chamber during the past year. The recipient of this award is nominated by the current Board President and the two most recent Past-Presidents.

Previous winners...

2000    Ed Reeder
2001    Andrew White
2002    Phil Schaefer
2003    Helen Coracy
2004    Bonnie Brackett
2005    George and Diane Sheffer
2006    Brad Cole
2007    Jeff Doherty
2008    Sally Wright
2009    Jason Borque
2010    Woody Thorne
2011    Randy Johnson
2012    Bill Simonds
2013    Darren Berger
2014    Marcia Sinnott
2015    Matt Carnaghi
2016    Diane Daugherty
2017    Scott Thorne
2018    Amy Fox
2019    Carolin Harvey
2020    Larry Edgarton
2021    Steve Quinn
2022    Roni LeForge-Croxell


The Art in Business Award is given to an area business or organization that has shown a commitment to using art to enhance their facilities or services. Nominations for this award are submitted by Artspace 304.

Previous recipients...

2021    Arnette's Barber Shop
2022    John A. Logan College


The Sustainability Award recognizes a member business or organization that is making significant efforts to reduce waste, increase the use of renewable products and energy, and making a positive impact on our local environment. Nominations for this award are submitted by the Carbondale Sustainability Commission.

Previous recipients...

Coming in 2024


The Non-Profit of the Year Award recognizes the work of a local charitable organization that has made a significant impact on the community and has demonstrated the consistent ability to meet specific needs of local residents. Nominations for this award are submitted by Chamber members.

Previous recipients...

2022    African American Museum